Breeders Cup Classic

The Breeder’s Cup Classic also known as the Longines Breeder’s Cup Classic is a G1 race Weight for Age for 3-year-olds and older thoroughbreds.  The Longines Breeders’ Cup Classic, run at 1 1/4 miles (10 furlongs) on dirt, draws the top international Thoroughbreds year after year. It is open to horses three years old and older and is limited to 14 starters.

The race has the highest purse in the United States, currently, six million dollars, and the winner is frequently crowned horse of the year.  Last year’s winner was Knicks Go, trained by Brad H. Cox and the jockey was the Dominican Joel Rosario. Knicks Go posted a 2 ¾-length victory over Medina Spirit.  Wild Again won the first running in 1984 at odds of 30 to 1.  The biggest upset in the race occurred in 1993 when Arcangues won at odds of 133 to 1. 


A horse can qualify for a Breeders’ Cup race by completing one of the following processes. By winning a Breeder Cup Challenge Series “win and You’re in” or through a selection process. If there are more than 14 nominees (oversubscribed), the BC Challenge Series winners will get spots and the next seven are determined by points based on the following formula. Win, place, and show horses in Grade I stakes earn ten, six, and four points, respectively. The top three finishers in Grade II stakes earn six, four, and two points respectively, and in Grade III races the points earned are four, two, and one, respectively.

Grade I1064
Grade II642
Grade III421

The horses remaining after the BC Challenge winners and 7 entries based on points will be ranked in order of preference by the Panel. The Panel will be free to establish its own criteria or ranking so that high-quality horses of demonstrated ability will have the opportunity to participate in Championship Races regardless of earlier participation in graded events.

Breeders’ Cup Longines Classic Win and You’re In Races

Feb 20thFebruary StakesGrade 1Tokyo Racecourse    1 MileCafe Pharoah    Breeders Cup Challenge Series Videos 
Jul 2ndStephen Foster StakesGrade 1Churchill Downs   11/8 MilesOlympiadBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Jul 23rd             Haskell StakesGrade 1Monmouth Park   11/4 Miles (T)CyberknifeBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Aug 6thThe Whitney StakesGrade 1Saratoga1 1/8 MilesLife is GoodBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Aug 17thJuddmonte International StakesGrade 1York Racecourse1 1/4 Miles (T)BaaeedBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Sep 3rd Pacific ClassicGrade 1Del Mar1 1/4 MilesFlightlineBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Sep 3rdJockey Club Gold CupGrade 1Saratoga1 1/4 MilesOlympiadBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Oct 1stAwesome Again StakesGrade 1 Santa Anita Park1 1/8 Miles


Most wins:

2 – Tiznow (2000, 2001)

Largest winning margins:

6 ½ lengths – American Pharoah (2015)

6 ½ lengths – Volponi (2002)

Most wins by a jockey:

5 – Chris McCarron (1988, 1989, 1996, 2000, 2001)

5 – Jerry Bailey (1991, 1993, 1994, 1995, 2005)

Most wins by a trainer:

4 – Bob Baffert (2014, 2015, 2016, 2020)

Most wins by an owner:

2 – Stronach Stables (1998, 2004)

Breeder’s Cup Classic Past Winners

2021Knicks Go5Joel RosarioBrad H. CoxKorea Racing Authority
2020Authentic3John R. VelazquezBob BaffertSpendthrift Farm
2019Vino Rosso4Irad Ortiz Jr.Todd PletcherMike Repole
2018Accelerate5Joel RosarioJohn W. SadlerHronis Racing LLC
2017Gun Runner4Florent GerouxSteve AsmussenWinchell Thoroughbreds & Three Chimneys Farm
2016Arrogate3Mike E. SmithBob BaffertJuddmonte Farms
2015American Pharoah3Victor EspinozaBob BaffertZayat Stables
2014Bayern3Martin GarciaBob BaffertKaleem Shah
2013Mucho Macho Man5Gary StevensKatherine RitvoReeves Thoroughbred Racing
2012Fort Larned4Brian Hernandez Jr.Ian WilkesJanis R. Whitham
2011Drosselmeyer4Mike E. SmithWilliam I. MottWinStar Farm LLC
2010Blame4Garrett GomezAlbert Stall Jr.Claiborne Farm & Adele Dilschneider
2009Zenyatta†5Mike E. SmithJohn ShirreffsJerry & Ann Moss
2008Raven’s Pass3Frankie DettoriJohn GosdenPrincess Haya/Darley Racing
2007Curlin3Robby AlbaradoSteve AsmussenStonestreet Stables et al.
2006Invasor (ARG)4Fernando JaraKiaran McLaughlinShadwell Racing
2005Saint Liam5Jerry BaileyRichard Dutrow Jr.M/M William K. Warren Jr.
2004Ghostzapper4Javier CastellanoRobert J. FrankelStronach Stables
2003Pleasantly Perfect5Alex SolisRichard MandellaDiamond A Racing Corp.
2002Volponi4José A. SantosPhilip G. JohnsonAmherst & Spruce Pond Stable
2001Tiznow4Chris McCarronJay M. RobbinsCee’s Stables
2000Tiznow3Chris McCarronJay M. RobbinsCooper & Straub-Rubens
1999Cat Thief3Pat DayD. Wayne LukasOverbrook Farm
1998Awesome Again4Pat DayPatrick B. ByrneStronach Stables
1997Skip Away4Mike E. SmithSonny HineCarolyn Hine
1996Alphabet Soup5Chris McCarronDavid HofmansRidder Thoroughbred Stable
1995Cigar5Jerry BaileyWilliam I. MottAllen E. Paulson
1994Concern3Jerry BaileyRichard W. SmallRobert E. Meyerhoff
1993Arcangues5Jerry BaileyAndré FabreDaniel Wildenstein
1992A.P. Indy3Ed DelahoussayeNeil DrysdaleTomonori Tsurumaki, William S. Farish III, William S. Kilroy
1991Black Tie Affair (IRE)5Jerry BaileyErnie T. PoulosJeffrey Sullivan
1990Unbridled3Pat DayCarl NafzgerFrances A. Genter
1989Sunday Silence3Chris McCarronCharlie WhittinghamH-G-W Partners
1988Alysheba4Chris McCarronJack Van BergDorothy & Pam Scharbauer
1987Ferdinand4Bill ShoemakerCharlie WhittinghamElizabeth A. Keck
1986Skywalker4Laffit Pincay Jr.Michael WhittinghamOak Cliff Stables
1985Proud Truth3Jorge VelásquezJohn M. VeitchDarby Dan Farm
1984Wild Again4Pat DayVincent TimphonyBlack Chip Stable (William Allen, Ron Volkman, Terry Beall)

Make sure to check our Breeders’ Cup Odds. Find Racetrack entries, horse racing results and our Betting Promos. Don’t forget to Sign-up and get up to a 10% horse rebate. We have the biggest rebate!

Follow us on Social Media for instant Breeders Cup Classic Odds & News updates!