Breeders Cup Filly & Mare Turf

The Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Turf also known as the Maker’s Mark Filly & Mare Turf is a Weight for Age Thoroughbred horse race on turf exclusive for fillies and mares.

The world’s best female grass horses compete in this race that has been contested at distances ranging from 1 1/8 mile to 1 3/8 mile depending on the course configuration for a $2 million purse.

Last year’s winner was Loves Only You, a Japanese horse trained by Yoshito Yahagi and the jockey was the Japanese Yuga Kawada.  Loves Only You became the first Japan-based horse to win a Breeders’ Cup race defeating War Like Goddess and longshot My Sister Nat.

A horse can qualify for a Breeders’ Cup race by completing one of the following processes. By winning a Breeders’ Cup Challenge Series “Win and You’re in” or through a selection process. If there are more than 14 nominees (oversubscribed), the BC Challenge Series winners will get spots and the next seven are determined by points based on the following formula.

Win, place, and show horses in Grade I stakes earn ten, six, and four points, respectively. The top three finishers in Grade II stakes earn six, four, and two points respectively, and in Grade III races the points earned are four, two, and one, respectively.

Grade I1064
Grade II642
Grade III421

The horses remaining after the BC Challenge winners and 7 entries based on points will be ranked in order of preference by the Panel. The Panel will be free to establish its own criteria or ranking so that high-quality horses of demonstrated ability will have the opportunity to participate in Championship Races regardless of earlier participation in graded events.

Breeders Cup Filly & Mare Turf Win and You’re In Races

Jan 8thCartier Paddock StakesG1Kenilworth Racecourse1 3/16 MilesCaptain’s RansomBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
May 15thVictoria MileG1JRA Tokyo RaceTrack1 Mile (T)Sodashi (JPN)Breeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
June 26thGran Premio PamplonaG1Monterrico1 1/4 Miles (T)Ola PerfectaBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Aug 13thBeverly D. StakesG1Churchill Downs1 1/8 MilesDalikaBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Aug 18thYorkshire OaksG1York Racecourse1 1/2 MilesAlpinistaBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Sep 3rdThe Flower BowlG1Saratoga1 3/8 MileVirginia Joy Breeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Sep 10thCoolmore America ‘Justify’ Matron StakesG1Leopardstown1 Mile (T)Pearls GaloreBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Oct 2nd Prix de L’Opera Longines           G1France Galop1 1/4 Miles (T)Place du CarrouselBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos


Most wins:

2 – Ouija Board (2004, 2006)

Most wins by a jockey:

3 – John R. Velazquez (2002, 2011, 2018)

Most wins by a trainer:

4 – Chad Brown (2012, 2014, 2015, 2018)

Most wins by an owner:

3 – Juddmonte Farms (2001, 2005, 2009)

2 – Lord Derby (2004, 2006)

Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Turf Past Winners

2022Tuesday3Ryan MooreAidan P. O’BrienDerrick Smith & Westerberg Limited
2021Loves Only You (JPN)5Yuga KawadaYoshito YahagiDMM Dream Club Co.
2020Audarya (FR)3Pierre-Charles BoudotJames FanshaweAlison Swinburn
2019Iridessa (IRE)3Wayne LordanJoseph Patrick O’BrienChantal Regalado-Gonzalez
2018Sistercharlie (IRE)4John R. VelazquezChad BrownPeter M. Brant
2017Wuheida (GB)3William BuickCharlie ApplebyGodolphin
2016Queen’s Trust (GB)3Frankie DettoriSir Michael StouteCheveley Park Stud
2015Stephanie’s Kitten6Irad OrtizChad BrownKenneth and Sarah Ramsey
2014Dayatthespa5Javier CastellanoChad BrownJerry Frankel et al.
2013Dank (GB)4Ryan MooreSir Michael StouteJames Wigan
2012Zagora (FR)4Javier CastellanoChad BrownMartin S. Schwartz
2011Perfect Shirl4John R. VelazquezRoger AttfieldCharles E. Fipke
2010Shared Account4Edgar PradoGraham MotionSagamore Farm
2009Midday (GB)3Tom QueallyHenry CecilJuddmonte Farms
2008Forever Together4Julien LeparouxJonathan SheppardAugustin Stable
2007Lahudood (GB)4Alan GarciaKiaran McLaughlinShadwell Racing
2006Ouija Board (GB)5Frankie DettoriEd DunlopLord Derby
2005Intercontinental (GB)5Rafael BejaranoRobert J. FrankelJuddmonte Farms
2004Ouija Board (GB)3Kieren FallonEd DunlopLord Derby
2003Islington (IRE)4Kieren FallonSir Michael StouteBallymacoll Stud
2002Starine (FR)5John R. VelazquezRobert J. FrankelRobert J. Frankel
2001Banks Hill (GB)3Olivier PeslierAndré FabreJuddmonte Farms
2000Perfect Sting4Jerry BaileyJoe OrsenoStronach Stables
1999Soaring Softly4Jerry BaileyJames J. TonerPhillips Racing Partnership

Make sure to check our Breeders’ Cup Odds. Find Racetrack entries, horse racing results and our Betting Promos. Don’t forget to Sign-up and get up to a 10% horse rebate. We have the biggest rebate!

Follow us on Social Media for instant Breeders Cup Filly & Mare Turf Odds & News updates!