Breeders Cup Juvenile Fillies

The Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies is an 8.5 furlong ( 1 1/16 miles)  horse race on dirt for two-year-old fillies with a $2,000,000 purse run annually on the first Breeders’ Cup card day.  The race is currently called the NetJets Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies.  The race has been run since 1984 and was originally at a distance of 1 mile.  The 2002 edition that took place at Arlington Park was 9 furlongs (1 1/8 mile).

Breeders Cup Odds

Last year, Steve Asmussen trainee Echo Zulu destroyed the small field of six in winning by 5 ¼ lengths under jockey Joel Rosario.  This wrapped up the eclipse award as the top Juvenile filly.  Echo Zulu’s sire Gun Runner won the 2017 BC Classic also at Del Mar and was named Horse of the Year.     

Horses can qualify for the event either through the Breeders’ Cup Challenge Series “Win and You’re In” or through a selection process. If there are more than 14 nominees (oversubscribed), the BC Challenge Series winners will get spots and the next seven are determined by points based on the following formula. Win, place, and show horses in Grade I stakes earn ten, six, and four points, respectively. The top three finishers in Grade II stakes earn six, four, and two points respectively, and in Grade III races the points earned are four, two, and one, respectively.

Grade 11064
Grade 2642
Grade 3421

The horses remaining after the BC Challenge winners and 7 entries based on points will be ranked in order of preference by the Panel. The Panel will be free to establish its own criteria or ranking so that high-quality horses of demonstrated ability will have the opportunity to participate in Championship Races regardless of earlier participation in graded events.  

The Juvenile Fillies division awards up to five (looks like three for this race? automatic spots each year as part of the Breeders’ Cup Challenge “Win and You’re In” prep races series are:

Oct 7thThe Frizette Stakes1Aqueduct1 mileJust FYIBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Oct 6thDarley Alcibiades Stakes1Keeneland8.5 furlongsCandiedBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Oct 7thChandelier Stakes2Santa Anita8.5 furlongsChatalasBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos


Most wins by a jockey:

3 – Mike E. Smith (2008, 2015, 2017)
3 – Joel Rosario (2018, 2020, 2021)
2 – Pat Valenzuela (1986, 1992)
2 – Pat Day (1987, 1994)
2 – Jerry Bailey (1995, 1999)
2 – John Velazquez (2000, 2002)
2 – Corey Nakatani (2004, 2011)
2 – Garrett K. Gomez (2007, 2012)
2 – Javier Castellano (2013, 2019)

Most wins by a trainer:
6 – D. Wayne Lukas (1985, 1988, 1994, 1999, 2005, 2014)

Most wins by an owner:
2 – Eugene V. Klein (1985, 1988)

Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies Past Winners

2023Just FYIJunior AlvaradoWilliam MottGeorge Krikorian
2022Wonder WheelTyler GaffalioneMark CasseD.J Stable LLC
2021Echo ZuluJoel RosarioSteve AsmussenL and N Racing & Winchell Thoroughbreds
2020VequistJoel RosarioRobert Reid Jr.Gary Barber, Watchtel Stables, Swilcan Stables
2019British IdiomJavier CastellanoBrad H. CoxMichael Dubb, Elkstone Group, Madaket Stables, Bethlehem Stables
2018JaywalkJoel RosarioJohn ServisCash is King LLC & DJ Stable, LLC
2017Caledonia RoadMike E. SmithRalph E. NicksZoom and Fish Stable, Charlie Spiring & Newtown Anner Stud
2016Champagne RoomMario GutierrezPeter EurtonCiaglia Racing
2015SongbirdMike E. SmithJerry HollendorferFox Hill Farms
2014Take Charge BrandiVictor EspinozaD. Wayne LukasCharming Syndicate
2013Ria Antonia Javier CastellanoJeremiah C. EnglehartDunn/Loooch Racing Stable
2012BeholderGarrett K. GomezRichard E. MandellaSpendthrift Farm
2011My Miss AureliaCorey NakataniSteve AsmussenStonestreet Stables/Bolton
2010Awesome FeatherJeffrey SanchezStanley I. GoldJacks or Better Farm, Inc.
2009She Be WildJulien LeparouxWayne CatalanoNancy Mazzoni
2008Stardom BoundMike E. SmithChristopher PaaschCharles Cono LLC
2007Indian BlessingGarrett GomezBob BaffertHal J. Earnhardt III
2006Dreaming of AnnaRené DouglasWayne CatalanoFrank C. Calabrese
2005FolkloreEdgar PradoD. Wayne LukasBob & Beverly Lewis
2004Sweet CatomineCorey NakataniJulio CananiPam & Martin Wygod
2003HalfbridledJulie KroneRichard MandellaWertheimer Farm
2002Storm Flag FlyingJohn VelazquezC. R. McGaughey IIIOgden Mills Phipps
2001TemperaDavid FloresEoin G. HartyGodolphin Racing
2000CaressingJohn VelazquezDavid R. VanceCarl F. Pollard
1999Cash RunJerry BaileyD. Wayne LukasPadua Stable
1998SilverbulletdayGary StevensBob BaffertMichael E. Pegram
1997Countess DianaShane SellersPatrick B. ByrnePropson, Kaster et al.
1996Storm SongCraig PerretNick ZitoDogwood Stable
1995My FlagJerry BaileyC. R. McGaughey IIIOgden Phipps
1994FlandersPat DayD. Wayne LukasOverbrook Farm
1993Phone ChatterLaffit Pincay Jr.Richard MandellaHerman Sarkowsky
1992ElizaPat ValenzuelaAlex L. Hassinger Jr.Allen E. Paulson
1991Pleasant StageEd DelahoussayeChris SpeckertBuckland Farm
1990Meadow StarJosé A. SantosLeRoy JolleyCarl Icahn
1989Go For WandRandy RomeroWilliam Badgett Jr.Christiana Stables
1988Open MindÁngel Cordero Jr.D. Wayne LukasEugene V. Klein
1987EpitomePat DayPhil HauswaldJohn A. Bell III
1986Brave RajPat ValenzuelaMelvin F. StuteDolly Green
1985Twilight RidgeJorge VelásquezD. Wayne LukasEugene V. Klein
1984Outstandingly Walter GuerraPancho MartinHarbor View Farm

Check out the 2023 BC Juvenile Fillies Odds & Contenders

Make sure to check our Breeders’ Cup Odds. Find Racetrack entries, horse racing results and our Betting Promos. Don’t forget to Sign-up and get up to a 10% horse rebate. We have the biggest rebate!

Preview banner

Follow us on Social Media for instant Breeders Cup Juvenile Fillies Odds & News updates!