Breeders Cup Juvenile Turf Sprint

The Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf Sprint is a Breeders’ Cup World Championships race for 2 years old horses (Colts, Geldings & Fillies). The distance is 5 or 5½ furlongs depending on the configuration of the host track and is run on the turf course with a purse of $1,000,00 USD.

This year the race will take place on November 4th post time 5:50 pm ET.

Horses can qualify for the event either through the Breeders’ Cup Challenge Series “win and You’re in” or through a selection process.

If there are more than 14 nominees (oversubscribed), the BC Challenge Series winners will get spots and the next seven are determined by points based on the following formula. Win, Place, and Show horses in Grade I Stakes earn ten, six, and four points, respectively.

The top three finishers in Grade II Stakes earn six, four, and two points respectively, and in Grade III Races the points earned are four, two, and one, respectively.

Grade I1064
Grade II642
Grade III421

The horses remaining after the BC Challenge winners and 7 entries based on points will be ranked in order of preference by the Panel. The Panel will be free to establish its own criteria or ranking, so that high-quality horses of demonstrated ability will have the opportunity to participate in Championship Races regardless of earlier participation in graded events.

Breeders Cup Juvenile Turf Sprint Win and You’re In Races

June 16thNorfolk Stakes2Ascot2 FurlongsThe RidlerBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Aug 21thDarley Prix Morny1France Galop6 FurlongsBlackbeardBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Oct 2ndSpeakeasy StakesN/ASanta Anita5 FurlongsSpeed Boat BeachBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Oct 9thThe Futurity Stakes3Belmont Park6 FurlongsNagirrocBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Oct 9thIndian Summer StakesN/AKeeneland5½ FurlongsPrivate CreedBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos


Most wins by a jockey:

3 – Irad Ortiz Jr. (2019, 2020, 2021)

Most wins by a trainer:

3 – Wesley Ward (2019, 2020, 2021)

Breeders Cup Juvenile Turf Sprint Past Winners

2022Mischief MagicWilliam BuickCharlie ApplebyGodolphin, LLC
2021Twilight Gleaming (IRE)Irad Ortiz Jr.Wesley WardStonestreet Stables
2020Golden PalIrad Ortiz Jr.Wesley WardRanlo Investments
2019Four Wheel DriveIrad Ortiz Jr.Wesley WardBreeze Easy, LLC
2018BulletinJavier CastellanoTodd PletcherWinStar Farm

Make sure to check our Breeders’ Cup Odds. Find Racetrack entries, horse racing results and our Betting Promos. Don’t forget to Sign-up and get up to a 10% horse rebate. We have the biggest rebate!

Follow us on Social Media for instant Breeders Cup Juvenile Turf Sprint Odds & News updates!