Breeders Cup Juvenile Turf

The Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf is part of the Breeders’ Cup World Championship 2007 extension to a two-day event and takes place on the first day’s race card.  The first two Juvenile Turf races were not graded, but the American Graded Stakes Committee decided to make it Grade 2 status in 2009 and then in 2011 was upgraded to G1 status. The Juvenile Turf is a one-mile (8 furlongs) race run on turf for two-year-olds with a $1 million purse.

Last year’s race ended in controversy when Modern Games has inadvertently declared a scratch and then later it was announced that she would run for purse money only.  Tiz the Bomb was declared the winner for wagering purposes.   

Horses can qualify for the event either through the Breeders Cup Challenge Series “win and You’re in” or through a selection process. If there are more than 14 nominees (oversubscribed), the BC Challenge Series winners will get spots and the next seven are determined by points based on the following formula. Win, place, and show horses in Grade I stakes earn ten, six, and four points, respectively. The top three finishers in Grade II stakes earn six, four, and two points respectively, and in Grade III races the points earned are four, two, and one, respectively.

Grade 11064
Grade 2642
Grade 3421

The horses remaining after the BC Challenge winners and 7 entries based on points will be ranked in order of preference by the Panel. The Panel will be free to establish its own criteria or ranking so that high-quality horses of demonstrated ability will have the opportunity to participate in Championship Races regardless of earlier participation in graded events.

This year the Juvenile Turf division awards 5 automatic spots as part of the Breeders’ Cup Challenge “Win and You’re In” prep races series.

Sep 10thChampion Juvenile Stakes2Leopardstown1 mileAuguste RodinBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Sep 17thPattison Summer Stakes1Woodbine1 mileMysterious NightBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Sep 24thJuddmonte Royal Lodge Stakes2Newmarket1 mileThe FoxesBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Oct 2ndQatar Prix Jean-Luc Lagardere1France Galop7 furlongsBelbekBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Oct 2ndThe Pilgrim2Belmont Park8.5 furlongsMajor DudeBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Oct 9thCastle & Key Bourbon Stakes2Keeneland8.5 furlongsAndthewinnerisBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos


Most wins by a jockey:

4 – Ryan Moore (2011, 2012, 2015, 2017)

Most wins by a trainer:

4 – Aidan O’Brien (2011, 2012, 2015, 2017)

Most wins by an owner:

4 – John Magnier / Michael Tabor / Derrick Smith (2011, 2012, 2014, 2017)

Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf Past Winners

2022Victoria RoadRyan MooreAidan P. O’BrienMichael Tabor & Derrick Smith
Modern Games (IRE)  
William BuickCharlie ApplebyGodolphin
2020Fire At WillRicardo Santana Jr.Michael J. MakerThree Diamonds Farm (Kirk & Debra Wycoff)
2019StructorJosé OrtizChad BrownJeff Drown & Don Rachel
2018Line of Duty (IRE)William BuickCharlie ApplebyGodolphin
2017MendelssohnRyan MooreAidan O’BrienSue Magnier, Michael Tabor, Derrick Smith
2016Oscar PerformanceJosé OrtizBrian A. LynchAmerman Racing Stables LLC
2015Hit It A BombRyan MooreAidan O’BrienEvie Stockwell
2014HootenannyFrankie DettoriWesley A. WardSue Magnier, Michael Tabor, Derrick Smith
2013Outstrip (GB)Mike SmithCharlie ApplebyGodolphin
2012George VancouverRyan MooreAidan O’BrienSue Magnier, Michael Tabor, Derrick Smith
2011Wrote (IRE)Ryan MooreAidan O’BrienSue Magnier, Michael Tabor, Derrick Smith
2010PluckGarrett K. GomezTodd PletcherTeam Valor
2009PouncedFrankie DettoriJohn GosdenSerena Rothschild
2008Donativum (GB)Frankie DettoriJohn GosdenJordan Princess Haya/ Darley
2007NownownowJulien LeparouxFrançois PariselFab Oak Stable (Fabien Ouak)

Make sure to check our Breeders’ Cup Odds. Find Racetrack entries, horse racing results and our Betting Promos. Don’t forget to Sign-up and get up to a 10% horse rebate. We have the biggest rebate!

Follow us on Social Media for instant Breeders Cup Juvenile Turf Odds & News updates!