Breeders Cup Juvenile

The Breeders Cup Juvenile is also known as the TVG Juvenile is a horse race for 2-year-old colts and geldings. This year the event is going to hold on November 4th at Keeneland.

The current purse is US$2,000,000 making it the most valuable race for two-year-olds in America. For this edition, the run will have a distance of 1 116 miles on dirt.

This event is often a preview of the stars of the Triple Crown races for the following year. For example, Timber Country holds the record as the first Breeders’ Cup Juvenile victor to win the Triple Crown race when he went on to win the 1995 Preakness Stakes. Also, in 2006 Street Sense became the first to capture the Kentucky Derby a feat that was repeated by Nyquist in 2016.

Last Year Winner

Last year’s winner was Corniche, which was trained by Bob Baffert and the jockey was the American Mike E. Smith. Corniche earned the victory ahead of runner-up Pappacap and Giant Game who finished third in the race.


A horse can qualify for a Breeders’ Cup race by completing one of the following processes. By winning a Breeder Cup Challenge Series “win and You’re in” or through a selection process. If there are more than 14 nominees (oversubscribed), the BC Challenge Series winners will get spots and the next seven are determined by points based on the following formula.

Win, place, and show horses in Grade I stakes earn ten, six, and four points, respectively. The top three finishers in Grade II stakes earn six, four, and two points respectively, and in Grade III races the points earned are four, two, and one, respectively.

Grade I1064
Grade II642
Grade III421

The horses remaining after the BC Challenge winners and 7 entries based on points will be ranked in order of preference by the Panel. The Panel will be free to establish its own criteria or ranking so that high-quality horses of demonstrated ability will have the opportunity to participate in Championship Races regardless of earlier participation in graded events.

Breeders Cup Juvenile Win and You’re In Races

Oct 1thChampagne StakesG1 Belmont Park    1 MileBlazing SevensBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Oct 8thClaiborne Breeders’ FuturityG1Juvenile Keeneland1 1/16 MilesForteBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Oct 8thAmerican Pharoah StakesG1Santa Anita Park  1 1/4 Miles (T)Cave RockBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos


Most wins by a jockey:

3 – Laffit Pincay Jr. (1985, 1986, 1988)

3 – Jerry Bailey (1996, 1998, 2000)

3 – Mike E. Smith (1995, 2002, 2021)

Most wins by a trainer:

5 – D. Wayne Lukas (1986, 1987, 1988, 1994, 1996)

5 – Bob Baffert (2002, 2008, 2013, 2018, 2021)

Most wins by an owner:

2 – Eugene V. Klein (1987, 1988)

2 – Overbrook Farm (with partners in 1994, 1996)

2 – Michael Tabor & Susan Magnier (2001, with partners in 2012)

2 – Gary & Mary West (2013, 2018)

2 – Godolphin (2009, 2020)

Breeders Cup Juvenile Past Winners

2022ForteIrad Ortiz. JrTodd PletcherRepole & St Elias Stable
2021CornicheMike E. SmithBob BaffertSpeedway Stables LLC
2020Essential QualityLuis SaezBrad H. CoxGodolphin Stables
2019Storm the CourtFlavien PratPeter EurtonExline-Border Racing LLC et al.
2018Game WinnerJoel RosarioBob BaffertGary and Mary West
2017Good MagicJosé L. OrtizChad C. Browne Five Racing / Stonestreet Stables
2016Classic EmpireJulien LeparouxMark CasseJohn C. Oxley
2015NyquistMario GutierrezDoug O’NeillReddam Racing
2014Texas RedKent DesormeauxKeith DesormeauxErich Brehm, Wayne Detmar et al.
2013New Year’s DayMartin GarciaBob BaffertGary and Mary West
2012Shanghai BobbyRosie NapravnikTodd PletcherStarlight Racing/Magnier/Tabor/Smith
2011HansenRamon DomínguezMichael MakerKendall Hansen, MD/Sky Chai Racing
2010Uncle MoJohn VelazquezTodd PletcherRepole Stable
2009Vale of York (IRE)Ahmed AjtebiSaeed bin SuroorGodolphin
2008MidshipmanGarrett GomezBob BaffertDarley Stable
2007War PassCornelio VelásquezNick ZitoRobert V. LaPenta
2006Street SenseCalvin BorelCarl NafzgerJames B. Tafel
2005Stevie WonderboyGarrett GomezDoug O’NeillMerv Griffin Ranch Company
2004WilkoFrankie DettoriJeremy NosedaJ. Paul Reddam
2003Action This DayDavid R. FloresRichard MandellaB. Wayne Hughes
2002VindicationMike E. SmithBob BaffertPadua Stables
2001JohannesburgMichael KinaneAidan O’BrienMichael Tabor & Susan Magnier
2000Macho UnoJerry BaileyJoseph OrsenoStronach Stables
1999AneesGary StevensAlex Hassinger Jr.The Thoroughbred Corp.
1998Answer LivelyJerry BaileyBobby C. BarnettJohn A. Franks
1997Favorite TrickPat DayPatrick B. ByrneJoseph LaCombe Stable
1996Boston HarborJerry BaileyD. Wayne LukasOverbrook Farm
1995Unbridled’s SongMike E. SmithJames T. RyersonParaneck Stable
1994Timber CountryPat DayD. Wayne LukasOverbrook/Gainsway/Lewis
1993BroccoGary StevensRandy WinickAlbert R. Broccoli
1992Gilded TimeChris McCarronDarrell ViennaMilch, Silverman & Silverman
1991AraziPat ValenzuelaFrançois BoutinAllen E. Paulson
1990Fly So FreeJosé A. SantosScotty SchulhoferTommy Valando
1989RhythmCraig PerretC. R. McGaughey IIIOgden Mills Phipps
1988Is It TrueLaffit Pincay Jr.D. Wayne LukasEugene V. Klein
1987Success ExpressJosé A. SantosD. Wayne LukasEugene V. Klein
1986CapoteLaffit Pincay Jr.D. Wayne LukasBeal, French Jr. & E. V. Klein
1985TassoLaffit Pincay Jr.Neil DrysdaleGerald Robins
1984Chief’s CrownDon MacBethRoger LaurinStar Crown Stable (Andrew Rosen, et al.)

Make sure to check our Breeders’ Cup Odds. Find Racetrack entries, horse racing results and our Betting Promos. Don’t forget to Sign-up and get up to a 10% horse rebate. We have the biggest rebate!

Follow us on Social Media for instant Breeders Cup Juvenile Odds & News updates!