Breeders Cup Mile

This race for horses three years old and up features the world’s best grass milers competing around two turns on the turf. Since its inception in 1984, the Breeders Cup Mile has been held annually as part of the Breeders’ Cup World Championship.

In 1984, Royal Heroine became the first Breeders’ Cup Mile winner. She started as the race favorite at 8-5 odds.  The Mile has the most multiple winners of any Breeders’ Cup race, including Miesque (1987, 1988), Lure (1992, 1993), Da Hoss (1996, 1998), Goldikova (2008, 2009, 2010), and Wise Dan (2012, 2013).

Horses can qualify for the event either through the Breeders’ Cup Challenge Series “Win and You’re in” or through a selection process. If there are more than 14 nominees (oversubscribed), the BC Challenge Series winners will get spots and the next seven are determined by points based on the following formula. Win, place and show horses in Grade I stakes earn ten, six, and four points, respectively. The top three finishers in Grade II stakes earn six, four, and two points respectively, and in Grade III races the points earned are four, two, and one, respectively.

Grade 11064
Grade 2642
Grade 3421

The horses remaining after the BC Challenge winners and 7 entries based on points will be ranked in order of preference by the Panel. The Panel will be free to establish its own criteria or ranking so that high-quality horses of demonstrated ability will have the opportunity to participate in Championship Races regardless of earlier participation in graded events.

Breeders’ Cup Mile Win and You’re In Races

Jan 8thL’Ormarins Queen’s Plate1Kenilworth Racecourse1 MileJet Dark (SAF)Breeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
May 29thGran Premio Club Hipico Falabella1Club Hipico Falabella1 1/4 MilesViejos Tiempos (CHI)Breeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
May 30thShoemaker Mile1Santa Anita Park1 MileCount AgainBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Jun 5thYasuda Kinen1Tokyo Racecourse1 MileSonglineBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Jun 14thQueen Anne Stakes1Ascot Racecourse1 MileBaaeedBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Jul 27thQatar Sussex Stakes1Goodwood Racecourse1 MileBaaeedBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Aug 13thThe Fourstardave1Saratoga1 MileCasa CreedBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Aug 14thPrix du Haras de Fresnay-Le-Buffard Jacques le Marois1Deauville Racecourse1 MileInspiralBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Sep 17thRicoh Woodbine Mile1Woodbine1 MileModern GamesBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Oct 8thCoolmore Turf Mile1Keeneland1 MileAnnapolisBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Oct 15thQueen Elizabeth II Stakes1Ascot Racecourse1 MileBayside Boy Malathaat Horse Race Video


Most wins:

3 – Goldikova (2008, 2009, 2010)

Most wins by a jockey:

3 – Olivier Peslier (2008, 2009, 2010)

3 – John R. Velazquez (1998, 2012, 2017)

Most wins by a trainer:

3 – Freddy Head (2008, 2009, 2010)

Most wins by an owner:

6 – Flaxman Holdings / Niarchos family (1987, 1988, 1997, 2002, 2003, 2014)

3 – Wertheimer et Frère (2008, 2009, 2010)     

Breeders’ Cup Mile Past Winners

2022Modern GamesWilliam BuickCharlie ApplebyGodolphin
2021Space Blues (IRE)5William BuickCharlie ApplebyGodolphin
2020Order of Australia (IRE)3Pierre-Charles BoudotAidan O’BrienDerrick Smith, Sue Magnier, Michael Tabor, & Anne -Marie O’Brien
2019Uni (GB)5Joel RosarioChad C. BrownKhalid Abdullah
2018Expert Eye (GB)3Frankie DettoriMichael StouteKhalid Abdullah
2017World Approval5John R. VelazquezMark E. CasseLive Oak Plantation (Charlotte C. Weber)
2016Tourist5Joel RosarioBill MottWinstar Farm
2015Tepin4Julien LeparouxMark E. CasseRobert E Masterson
2014Karakontie (JPN)3Stéphane PasquierJonathan PeaseFlaxman Holdings
2013Wise Dan6Jose LezcanoCharles LoprestiMorton Fink
2012Wise Dan5John R. VelazquezCharles LoprestiMorton Fink
2011Court Vision6Robby AlbaradoDale RomansSpendthrift Farm
2010Goldikova (IRE)5Olivier PeslierFreddy HeadWertheimer et Frère
2009Goldikova (IRE)4Olivier PeslierFreddy HeadWertheimer et Frère
2008Goldikova (IRE)3Olivier PeslierFreddy HeadWertheimer et Frère
2007Kip Deville4Cornelio VelásquezRichard E. Dutrow Jr.IEAH Stables et al.
2006Miesque’s Approval7Eddie CastroMartin D. WolfsonLive Oak Plantation (Charlotte C. Weber)
2005Artie Schiller4Garrett GomezJames A. JerkensTimber Bay Farm/Denise Walsh
2004Singletary4David R. FloresDon ChatlosLittle Red Feather Stables
2003Six Perfections (FR)3Jerry BaileyPascal BaryFlaxman Holdings
2002Domedriver (IRE)4Thierry ThulliezPascal BaryFlaxman Holdings
2001Val Royal (FR)5Jose Valdivia Jr.Julio CananiDavid S. Milch
2000War Chant3Gary StevensNeil DrysdaleIrving & Marjorie Cowan
1999Silic (FR)4Corey NakataniJulio CananiJ. Terrence Lanni
1998Da Hoss6John R. VelazquezMichael W. DickinsonPrestonwood/Wallstreet Stables
1997Spinning World4Cash AsmussenJonathan E. PeaseFlaxman Holdings
1996Da Hoss4Gary StevensMichael W. DickinsonPrestonwood/Wallstreet Stables
1995Ridgewood Pearl (GB)3Johnny MurtaghJohn OxxAnne Coughlan
1994Barathea (IRE)4Frankie DettoriLuca CumaniSheikh Mohammed/G. W. Leigh
1993Lure4Mike E. SmithC. R. McGaughey IIIClaiborne Farm
1992Lure3Mike E. SmithC. R. McGaughey IIIClaiborne Farm/The Gamely Corp.
1991Opening Verse5Pat ValenzuelaRichard J. LundyAllen E. Paulson
1990Royal Academy3Lester PiggottVincent O’BrienClassic Ire Stable
1989Steinlen (GB)6José A. SantosD. Wayne LukasDaniel Wildenstein
1988Miesque4Freddy HeadFrançois Boutin
Stavros Niarchos
1987Miesque3Freddy HeadFrançois BoutinStavros Niarchos
1986Last Tycoon (IRE)3Yves Saint-MartinRobert ColletRichard C. Strauss
1985Cozzene5Walter GuerraJan H. NerudJohn A. Nerud
1984Royal Heroine (IRE)4Fernando ToroJohn GosdenRobert Sangster

Make sure to check our Breeders’ Cup Odds. Find Racetrack entries, horse racing results, and our Betting Promos. Don’t forget to Sign-up and get up to a 10% horse rebate. We have the biggest rebate!

Follow us on Social Media for instant Breeders Cup Mile Odds & News updates!