Breeders Cup Sprint

One of the most anticipated races of the year is the Breeders Cup Sprint currently called the Qatar Racing Sprint.  The race is open to all horses 3-year-old and up and is a weight-for-age event. This event is run on dirt over a distance of 6 furlongs (3/4 mile) and is limited to 14 horses.

Horses can qualify for the event either through the Breeders’ Cup Challenge Series “Win and You’re in” or through a selection process. If there are more than 14 nominees (oversubscribed), the BC Challenge Series winners will get spots and the next seven are determined by points based on the following formula. Win, place and show horses in Grade I stakes earn ten, six and four points, respectively. 

The top three finishers in Grade II stakes earn six, four and two points respectively, and in Grade III races the points earned are four, two and one, respectively. 

Grade 11064
Grade 2642
Grade 3421

The horses remaining after the BC Challenge winners and 7 entries based on points will be ranked in order of preference by the Panel. The Panel will be free to establish its own criteria or ranking so that high-quality horses of demonstrated ability will have the opportunity to participate in Championship Races regardless of earlier participation in graded events.  

Breeders Cup Sprint Win and You’re In Races

Jul 30thBing Crosby Stakes1Del Mar6 FurlongsAmerican TheoremBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Oct 7thOgden Phoenix Stakes2Keeneland6 FurlongsManny WahBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
Oct 8thThe Vosburgh S.2Belmont Park6 FurlongsElite PowerBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos


Most wins:

2 – Midnight Lute (2007, 2008)

2 – Roy H (2017, 2018)

Most wins by a jockey:

4 – Corey Nakatani (1996, 1997, 1998, 2006)

Most wins by a trainer:

5 – Bob Baffert (1992, 2007, 2008, 2013, 2016)

Most wins by an owner:

3 – Pegram/Watson & Weitman (2007, 2008, 2013)

Breeders’ Cup Sprint Past Winners

2022Elite PowerIrad Ortiz JrWilliam MottJuddmonte
2021Aloha West4José OrtizWayne CatalanoEclipse Thoroughbred Partners
2020Whitmore7Irad Ortiz Jr.Ron MoquettLaPenta, Moquett & Head of Plains Partners
2019Mitole4Ricardo Santana Jr.Steve AsmussenWilliam L. & Corinne Heiligbrodt
2018Roy H6Paco LopezPeter MillerRockingham Ranch & D. A. Bernsen
2017Roy H5Kent DesormeauxPeter MillerRockingham Ranch & D. A. Bernsen
2016Drefong3Martin GarciaBob BaffertBaoma Corporation
2015Runhappy3Edgar PradoMaria BorellJames McIngvale
2014Work All Week5Florent GerouxRoger BrueggemannMidwest Thoroughbreds Inc
2013Secret Circle4Martin GarciaBob BaffertPegram/Watson & Weitman
2012Trinniberg3Willie MartinezShivananda ParbhooSherry Parbhoo
2011Amazombie5Mike E. SmithBill SpawrSpawr & Sanford
2010Big Drama4Eibar CoaDavid FawkesHarold Queen
2009Dancing in Silks4Joel RosarioCarla GainesKen Kinakin
2008Midnight Lute5Garrett GomezBob BaffertPegram/Watson & Weitman
2007Midnight Lute4Garrett GomezBob BaffertPegram/Watson & Weitman
2006Thor’s Echo4Corey NakataniDoug O’NeillR.S. Jaime/Suarez Racing
2005Silver Train3Edgar PradoRichard DutrowBuckram Oak Farm
2004Speightstown6John VelazquezTodd A. PletcherEugene Melnyk
2003Cajun Beat3Cornelio VelásquezSteve MargolisPadua S./J. & J. Iracane
2002Orientate4Jerry BaileyD. Wayne LukasBob & Beverly Lewis
2001Squirtle Squirt3Jerry BaileyRobert J. FrankelDavid J. Lanzman
2000Kona Gold6Alex SolisBruce HeadleyHeadley/Molasky/High Tech
1999Artax4Jorge F. ChavezLouis AlbertraniParaneck Stable
1998Reraise3Corey NakataniCraig DollaseB Fey/M Han et al.
1997Elmhurst7Corey NakataniJenine SahadiEvergreen Farm & Sahadi
1996Lit de Justice6Corey NakataniJenine SahadiEvergreen Farm
1995Desert Stormer5Kent DesormeauxFrank LyonsJoanne H. Nor
1994Cherokee Run4Mike E. SmithFrank A. AlexanderJill E. Robinson
1993Cardmania7Ed DelahoussayeDerek MeredithJean Couvercelle
1992Thirty Slews5Eddie DelahoussayeBob BaffertDeGroot/Dutch Masters/Pegram
1991Sheikh Albadou (GB)3Pat EdderyAlex ScottHilal Salem
1990Safely Kept4Craig PerretAlan E. GoldbergJayeff B Stable
1989Dancing Spree4Ángel Cordero Jr.C. R. McGaughey IIIOgden Phipps
1988Gulch4Ángel Cordero Jr.D. Wayne LukasPeter M. Brant
1987Very Subtle3Pat ValenzuelaMelvin F. StuteBen Rochelle
1986Smile4Jacinto VásquezScotty SchulhoferFrances A. Genter
1985Precisionist4Chris McCarronRoss FenstermakerFred W. Hooper
1984Eillo4Craig PerretBudd LepmanCrown Stable

Make sure to check our Breeders’ Cup Odds. Find Racetrack entries, horse racing results and our Betting Promos. Don’t forget to Sign-up to get up to a 10% horse rebate. We have the biggest rebate!

Follow us on Social Media for instant Breeders Cup Sprint Odds & News updates!