Breeders Cup Turf Sprint

The Breeders Cup Turf Sprint combines speed and agility for horses three-years-old & up.   The race has been run a distance from 5 furlongs to about 6.5f on the turf depending on the host track.

The first edition of this race was in 2008 on the second day of Breeders’ Cup racing at Santa Anita and was run over a distance of six and a half furlongs, with Desert Code winning in a time of 01:11.6.  Besides Santa Anita, the only tracks in North America capable of contesting turf sprints at 6 1/2 furlongs are Woodbine and Belmont. This race can be run at 5 furlongs in Churchill Downs Racecourse. The 2015 race at Keeneland was held at approximately 5 1⁄2 furlongs.

Horses can qualify for the event either through the Breeders’ Cup Challenge Series “Win and You’re in” or through a selection process. If there are more than 14 nominees (oversubscribed), the BC Challenge Series winners will get spots and the next seven are determined by points based on the following formula. Win, place and show horses in Grade I stakes earn ten, six, and four points, respectively. The top three finishers in Grade II stakes earn six, four, and two points respectively, and in Grade III races the points earned are four, two, and one, respectively.

Grade 11064
Grade 2642
Grade 3421

The horses remaining after the BC Challenge winners and 7 entries based on points will be ranked in order of preference by the Panel. The Panel will be free to establish its own criteria or ranking, so that high-quality horses of demonstrated ability will have the opportunity to participate in Championship Races regardless of earlier participation in graded events.  

Breeders’ Cup Turf Sprint Win and You’re In Races

Jun 10thJaipur1Belmont Park6 FurlongsCaravel Turf Sprint Jaipur Race Video
Jun 20thKing’s Stand S.1Ascot Racecourse5 FurlongsBradsellKing’s Stand S. Race Video
Aug 25thNunthorpe Stakes1York Racecourse5 FurlongsLive In The DreamKing’s Stand S. Race Video
Sep 2thGreen Flash H.3Del Mar5 FurlongsMotoriousKing’s Stand S. Race Video
Sep 9thFanDuel Turf Sprint2Kentucky Downs6 FurlongsGear JockeyKing’s Stand S. Race Video
Sep 10thFlying Five Stakes1The Curragh5 FurlongsMoss TuckerKing’s Stand S. Race Video
Oct 1stPrix de L’Abbaye de Longchamp Longines1Longchamp Racecourse5 FurlongsHighfield PrincessKing’s Stand S. Race Video


Most wins:

2 – Mizdirection (2012, 2013)

2 – Stormy Liberal (2017, 2018)

Most wins by a jockey:

2 – Mike Smith (2012, 2013)

2 – Joel Rosario (2014, 2017)

Most wins by a trainer:

3 – Peter Miller (2017, 2018, 2019)

2 – Mike Puype (2012, 2013)

Most wins by an owner:

2 – Jungle Racing/KMN Racing et al. (2012, 2013)

2 – Rockingham Ranch (2017, 2018)         

Breeders’ Cup Turf Sprint Past Winners

2023Nobals4Gerardo CorralesLarry RivelliPatricia’s Hop LLC
2022Caravel5Tyler GaffalioneBrad CoxQatar Racing Limited, Mar Detmpel & Madaket Stables LLC
2021Golden Pal3Irad Ortiz Jr.Wesley WardDerrick Smith, Susan Magnier, Michael Tabor & Westerberg (Georg von Opel)
2020Glass Slippers (GB)4Tom EavesKevin RyanBearstone Stud (Terry & Margaret Holdcroft)
2019Belvoir Bay (GB)6Javier CastellanoPeter MillerGary Barber
2018Stormy Liberal6Drayden Van DykePeter MillerRockingham Ranch (Gary Hartunian)
2017Stormy Liberal5Joel RosarioPeter MillerRockingham Ranch (Gary Hartunian)
2016Obviously (IRE)8Flavien PratPhilip D’AmatoAnthony Fanticola & Joseph Scardino
2015Mongolian Saturday5Florent GerouxEnebish GanbatMongolian Stable (Ganbaatar Dagvadorj)
2014Bobby’s Kitten3Joel RosarioChad BrownKen & Sarah Ramsey
2013Mizdirection5Mike SmithMike PuypeJungle Racing/KMN Racing et al.
2012Mizdirection4Mike SmithMike PuypeJungle Racing/KMN Racing et al
2011Regally Ready4Corey NakataniSteve AsmussenVinery Stable
2010Chamberlain Bridge6Jamie TheriotBret CalhounCarl Moore Management
2009California Flag5Joe TalamoBrian KorinerHi Card Ranch (Keith Card)
2008Desert Code4Richard MiglioreDavid HofmansTarabilla Farms (Susan Osborne)

Make sure to check our Breeders’ Cup Odds. Find Racetrack entries, horse racing results and our Betting Promos. Don’t forget to Sign-up and get up to a 10% horse rebate. We have the biggest rebate!

Follow us on Social Media for instant Breeders Cup Turf Sprint Odds & News updates!