risen star stakes

Risen Star Stakes – Fairgrounds

A large part of the Risen Star’s success is due to its date of mid-February. The race virtually guarantees the winner a spot in the Churchill Downs starting gate on the first Saturday in May, it is the first race of the Kentucky Derby Championship Series and gives 85 Kentucky Derby qualification points, on a 50-20-10-5 scale.

In the 2010s, only a handful of Road to the Kentucky Derby preparation races had as many Derby participants as The Risen Star (G2) at Fair Grounds, which produced Triple Crown contenders very smoothly and easily throughout the decade.

The first race was held in 1973, under the name of the Louisiana Derby Trial, run at the beginning of the year and produced a steady stream of top-quality winners. Master Derby (1975), Run Dusty Run (1977) as well as Linkage (1982). All placed win or place in the spring classics. However, it was the horse Risen Star who truly brought the race to the map taking home victories during the Preakness Stakes and in the Belmont Stakes where he won by 14.5 lengths in a performance reminiscent of his sire Secretariat.

In 1991, the distance of the race was extended up to 1+1/16 of a mile, as well in the year 2002 the American Graded Stakes Committee changed the course to Grade 3.

The Risen Star Stakes achieved Grade 2 status in 2010 and then a couple of years later, the purse topped $400,000, an increase of twenty times from the prize of $20,000

The level of competition also improved, and between the years 2010 and 2019, 28 horses participated in the Risen Star Stakes as a stepping stone towards the Kentucky Derby. A tiny sample includes the 2019 Kentucky Derby winner Country House, the 2019 Preakness Stakes winner War of Will, 2013 Belmont Stakes winner Palace Malice, 2013 Preakness Stakes winner Oxbow and the 2017 Horse of the Year, Gun Runner.

Certainly, the Risen Star Stakes is growing, the race was run in two divisions in 1989, 1993, 1995, and 2020. In 2020 the distance was increased by 1 1⁄8 miles, this was a change so well-loved that the race received 23 participants and was held by two different divisions. The 2023 Risen Star Stakes will be taking place this Feb, 18th, stay tuned!

Let’s take a look back at the last five past winners

2023Angel Of EmpireLuis SaezBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
2022EpicenterJoel RosarioBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
2021MandalounFlorent GerouxBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
2020Division 1 – Mr. MonomoyFlorent GerouxBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
2020Division 2- ModernistJunior AlvaradoBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
2019War of WillTyler GaffalioneBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos
2018BravazoMiguel MenaBreeders Cup Challenge Series Videos

Make sure to stay tuned for the latest racing odds, and race entries. Sign-up and get a 10% horse rebate.

Boost your winning chances, with our Horse Betting Guide. We have a guide for all levels! Beginners, Intermediate & Handicappers!

Follow us on Social Media for instant Risen Star Stakes updates!