Australia Cup: Jye McNeil rode another famous Flemington winner in Lloyd Williams’ navy and white colours as Homesman overcame a wide run to claim the $1.5 million TAB Australian Cup (2000m); Months after McNeil won his first Melbourne Cup with a daring front-running ride aboard the Joseph O’Brien-trained Twilight Payment, Homesman required courage to sit wide throughout as his rider held his nerve to display perfect timing aboard the Northern Hemisphere seven-year-old gelding.

Homesman has raced 24 times for seven wins and eight placings, with prizemoney now in excess of $3 million. His other G1 success came in the 2018 Underwood Stakes (1800m) when trained by Liam Howley. Trained by Anthony and Sam Freedman, Homesman ($26) wore down Best Of Days ($26) to score by a nose, with Chapada ($41) finishing a length away in third.

Australia Cup Results

14HOMESMAN (USA)Anthony &Sam FreedmanJye McNeil 1459kg
27BEST OF DAYS (GB)James CummingsLuke Nolen0.1L1759kg
39CHAPADAMichael MoroneyDaniel Stackhouse1.1L959kg
417PARADEEDanny O’BrienCraig Williams1.3L157kg
56ANGEL OF TRUTHMichael Wayne & John HawkesWilliam Pike1.6L1359kg
612DEFIBRILLATE(NZ)Patrick PayneBilly Egan1.7L459kg
715MIAMI BOUND(NZ)Danny O’BrienDaniel Moor1.8L857kg
813SAN HUBERTO (IRE)Matt CumaniDean Yendall1.9L659kg
98STEEL PRINCE (IRE)Anthony &Sam FreedmanMs Jaime Kah2.1L1159kg
103FIFTY STARS (IRE)Tom Daberning & Ben HayesJohn Allen2.3L359kg
1111SHARED AMBITION (IRE)Chris WallerMark Zahra2.4L259kg
122HARLEM (GB)Tom Daberning & Ben HayesMichael Walker3.9L759kg
1310PLATTONNeville ParnhamBrad Parnham4.4L1059kg
141HUMIDOR (NZ)Chris WallerDamian Lane5.4L1259kg
1514NONCONFORMISTGrahame BeggLuke Currie6.65L1659kg
165WARNINGAnthony &Sam FreedmanDamien Oliver10.15L1559kg
1716MISS SISKAMathew SmithMichael Dee12.65L557kg

The Australian Cup History

iIs a Group 1 race for open class WFA horses conducted by the Victoria Racing Club at Flemington.
The Australian Cup is run over 2000m and was introduced in 1863. It is run under Weight For Age conditions now but was a handicap until 1979. The first running was taken out by Barwon.

It was run at Caulfield in 2007 when Flemington was under reconstruction and won by Pompeii Ruler.
The Australian Cup is an outstanding race through history, mostly since it became WFA. 3yos haven’t had a great record during that period. Super Cool won in 2013 but it was back to Saintly before that in 1996.

Even since that WFA change, Melbourne Cup winners have subsequently run well in the race including Let’s Elope, Makybe Diva, Shocking and Fiorente plus others who ran very well in November.One of the greatest upsets in Australian racing history came in 1988 when two elite horses Bonecrusher and Vo Rogue were expected to fight the race out. Almost every winner in the last decade ran in both the Orr Stakes and the St George (Peter Young) Stakes. Those that didn’t run in both, invariably at least ran in one and won the Cup.

The 2021 Australian Cup was worth $1.5million in prizemoney. Previous winners of the Australian Cup include Malua (1886), Spearfelt (1927), Gay Icarus (1971), Leilani (1975), Ming Dynasty (1978, 1980), Dulcify (1979), Hyperno (1981), Bonecrusher (1987), Vo Rogue (1989, 1990), Better Loosen Up (1991), Let’s Elope (1992), Veandercross (1993), Saintly (1996), Octagonal (1997), Northerly (2001, 2003), Lonhro (2004), Makybe Diva (2005), Shocking (2011), Fiorente (2014) and Harlem (2018/2019).

Make sure to check Horse Racing Tote for all the latest horse news, updated racing odds, last minute results and so much more.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.