The Citi Hong Kong Gold Cup is a group thoroughbred horse race held annually since 1979 at Sha Tin Racecourse, it is open to horses three years of age and older. Run or turf, it was initially run over a distance of 1,800 meters, but is now set at 2,000 meters (ten furlongs) and it offers a purse of HK$10,000,000. It is the second leg of the Hong Kong Triple Crown following the Steward’s Cup and leading into the Champions Chater Cup.

Some notable winners of the Hong Kong Gold Cup include Exultant (2019), Time Warp (2018/2020), Werther (2017), Designs On Rome (2015/2016), Military Attack (2013/2014), Ambitous Dragon (2012), California Memory (2011), Viva Pataca (2008/2009), Vengance Of rain (2007), Bullish Luck (2004) and Indigenous (1998/1999)

The 2020 Citi Hong Kong Gold Cup was won by Time Warp from Exultant and Citron Spirit.

Make sure to check Horse Racing Tote for all the latest horse news; weekend race results, graded stakes, and so much more. For current fixed odds check here Racebook Tote.

Follow us on Social Media for instant Racing News updates!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *